HVAC Training in Tennessee
A journeyman HVAC license is not required in Tennessee
Tennessee HVAC Contractor License
Tennessee offers the following HVAC License:
- HVAC (CMC-C)
- Full Mechanical (requires a plumbing license)
Steps to obtain a HVAC – (CMC-C) license:
- Obtain study materials including the “Business Law Reference Manual” for the business exam. You will also need code books and manuals including: Carrier Design Manual PART 3, HVAC Duct Construction Standards-Metal and Flexible 2005 , International Fuel Gas Code 2003, International Mechanical Code 2003, Manual J -8th Ed. Residential Load Calculation, Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, 18th, OSHA 29. CFR 1926 for Contractors Highlighted and Tabbed (current ed.), Pipefitters Handbook, Trane Ductulator, Uglys Electrical Reference.
- Schedule your exam with PSI. The fee for both the business and trade exam is $110.00: http://candidate.psiexams.com/catalog/fti_agency_license_details.jsp?fromwhere=findtest&testid=792
- The trade exam is open book, 4 hours and the business law exam is 2 hours. There are 100 questions and 73% is a passing score.
- Submit your completed test, application, Contractor’s Affidavit, Letter of Reference, Proof of Experience, Business License, Proof of Insurance, Reviewed or Audited financial statement and $250.00 fee to: Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243-1150