HVAC Training in North Carolina
North Carolina does not require registration or certification of HVAC Technicians.
Federal law does require EPA 608 Certification.
North Carolina offers the following HVAC Contractor License.
Residential and commercial qualifications also apply:
• Heating Group 1 All systems
• Heating Group 2 Over 15 tons
• Heating Group 3 Under 15 tons
Steps to obtain a license:
1. Apply to the state for an application package. http://www.nclicensing.org/_fpclass/_nosearch/Applications/PHFP%20Exam%20Application%202010-04.pdf
2. Purchase books. We recommend you take an exam preparation course. Two books are mandatory: State Board of Examiners Laws and Rules January 2011 Edition and Business & Project Management for Contractors Fourth Edition
3. Mail Completed Application Packet and $100.00 Examination Fee to: State Board of Examiners Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors, 1109 Dresser Court, Raleigh, NC 27609
4. Purchase a background check and include in the application. “CertifiedBackground.com”. ST46. Cost is $30.00
5. Meet elegibility requirements including 2 years or 4000 hours on the job experience in the category you are applying for. Half or the requirement can be met by tech school 30 semister hours.
6. Schedule and take the exam.