HVAC Training in Louisiana
Federal law requires EPA 608 Certification
HVAC Technicians are not required to register or be certified in Louisiana.
Louisiana contractors must pass an exam called “business and law” and an additional exam for the HVAC license.
Classes of licenses offered:
Steps to obtain a license:
- Call the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors and request an application.
- Complete the financial statement form and experience form and submit the application package.
- Obtain study materials and take an exam preparation short course. Exam covers building code, HVAC, ducts, flues, piping, controls, steam, chill water, etc.
- Schedule your exam. Pay the $100.00 exam fees.
$100.00 Application Fee
$35.00 Transaction Fee
$25.00 Background Investigation Fee
$120.00 Exam Fee*
$60.00 Study Guide Fee**
$400.00 Surcharge Fee (out of State) ***
- The exam is 80 questions with a four hour time limit. Approved books may be used during the open book exam. You must score 70% correct to pass.
- The business and trade exams are given in Baton Rouge.