HVAC Training in Rhode Island
Federal law requires anyone handling refrigerants to be EPA Certified.
Rhode Island requires all technicians to be licensed.
- Apprentice Refrigeration (HVAC)
- Journeyman Refrigeration (HVAC)
- Master Refrigeration (HVAC)
The state also requires the business to hold a Master Mechanical Contractor LICENSE. No exam. Fee is $240
Apprentice application: http://www.dlt.ri.gov/apprenticeship/pdfs/ApprenticeshipAgreement2008.pdf
Application fee is $24
Use this application for the journeyman and master license. http://www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs/pdfs/ApplicationMechanical.pdf
Journeyman License. Must have a Rhode Island Refrigeration Journeyperson I license for one (l) year or held a
Refrigeration Master II license with the State of Rhode Island for one (l) year
The exam/application fee is $75.
Master License. Minimum of 10000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of l44 hours of trade related schooling per year, shall be a properly registered apprentice in a Rhode Island approved apprenticeship program. The apprentice shall successfully complete the program and a copy of the certificate of completion shall accompany the application. Two (2) years of schooling in an accredited institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of Labor may be deducted from the apprentice program.
The exam application fee is $75
Exams take place at:
Building 73-1, Conference Room
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-0943
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
Division of Professional Regulation
1511 Pontiac Ave.
P.O. Box 20247
Cranston, RI 02920-0943
Fax: (401) 462-8528