HVAC Training in New Mexico
Federal law requires EPA 608 Certification
New Mexico AC Technicians must have a Journeyman’s license, or work under the direct supervision of a Journeyman.
Journeyman Mechanical Refrigeration
You must have 2 years or 4000 hours of experience to take the exam.
How to obtain your Journeyman license:
1) Obtain an application. PSI, 2301 Yale SE, Ste. C-4, Albuquerque, NM 87106, 877-663-9276 http://www.public.psiexams.com/pdf/HOW_TO_OBTAIN_A_JOURNEYMAN_CERTIFICATE.pdf
2) Submit your application, notarized experience form and the $75.00 application fee.
3) Obtain the study materials and take a test preparation course if possible. The exam is based on the following:
• New Mexico Mechanical Code (NMAC 14.9.2), 2009, www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/NMAC, (505) 476-4700
• New Mexico Plumbing Code (NMAC 14.8.2), 2009, www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/NMAC, (505) 476-4700
• Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, 2004, 18th Edition, The Goodheart-Willcox Company, (800) 323-0440, www.goodheartwillcox.com, ISBN 1-59070-280-8
• Uniform Mechanical Code, 2009, International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO), (800) 854-2766, www.iapmo.org.
• IPT’s Pipe Trades Handbook, Robert A. Lee, 1991, IPT Publishing and Training, Ltd., (888) 808-6763, www.iptbooks.com, ISBN 0-920855-18-0
• Industrial Refrigeration Handbook, W. F. Stoecker, 1998, McGraw-Hill, (800) 262-4729, www.books.mcgrawhill.com, ISBN 0-07-061623-X
• Code of Federal Regulations – 29 CFR Part 1926 Revised as of 2008 or later (OSHA), Superintendent of Documents, (888) 293-6498, www.osha.gov -OR- Code of Federal Regulations – 29 CFR Part 1926 elections as of 2008 by PSI, (800) 733-9267, (See order form at the end of this bulletin.)
4. Schedule your exam with PSI and pay the $68.88 exam fee.
5. The exam is 120 minutes and 50 questions
6. You must renew every 3 years
HVAC Contractors License
You must take and pass two exams to obtain a contractor’s license.
• Business and Law
• HVAC Trade Exam
Steps to obtain a license:
1. Obtain an application from: Contractors Licensing Service, Inc., 3211 Coors Blvd. SW, and Suite D-4. Albuquerque, NM 87121, (505)452-8311 , http://www.rld.state.nm.us/CID/index.htm
2. Provide proof of 2 to 4 years experience.
3. Provide bond of $500 to $5000 depending on the amount of business you anticipate.
4. Submit a certificate of competence.
5. Include $30.00 application fee.
6. Obtain your study materials and take an exam preparation course if possible. Uniform Mechanical Code, 2009
a) Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
b) IPT’s Pipe Trades Handbook
c) New Mexico Mechanical Code
e) SMACNA HVAC Duct Construction Standards
f) Pressure and Enthalpy Charts
7. Schedule your exam with PSI.