HVAC Training in Massachusetts
Federal law requires anyone handling refrigerants to be EPA Certified.
Massachusetts requires the following license for HVAC and Refrigeration over 10 tons:
- Anyone working in the HVAC refrigeration trade must have an apprentice license or better. You must be 18, with a high school diploma or better, be enrolled in trade school, submit an application with a photo and $40 application fee.
- Your application must be accompanied by the Division of Apprentice Training Approval Letter.
- This license is required for technicians performing work over 10 tons.
- Meet the requirements of the apprentice license, and submit a technician application
with $75 application fee.
- Copy of CFC Certification
- Document 6000 hours of apprentice experience.
- Provide documentation of 100 hours refrigeration trade school and 150 hours Mass. electrical
- See the application for alternate experience and training or testing to obtain a
- Anyone in the business of HVAC and refrigeration with or without employees is required to hold a contractor’s license.
- Provide documentation of Refrigeration Technicians license with not less than 2,000 hours work experience
- Provide documentation for completion of 100 hours of advanced refrigeration theory AND 100 hours of Massachusetts electrical code training.
- Submit application fee $150
- Schedule exam after receiving application approval.
Contractor Application http://www.mass.gov/Eeops/docs/dps/appl/appl_eng_refrigeration.pdf
License information http://www.mass.gov/Eeops/docs/dps/inf/inf_refrigeration_lic.pdf