HVAC, ICE Testing For Entry Level Techs

ICE Testing for HVAC Training

The “Industry Competency Exam”, ICE exam, will test for competency levels in an entry level tech with up to one year experience.  The exam is widely used by over 300 technical schools.  Many AC Contractors are requiring the exam to gauge the knowledge of applicants and existing techs.

AC manufacturers and contractors review the content and questions annually to keep the material current.  There are three different exams:
• Residential HVAC under 5 tons.  The Core exam is taken first to qualify the student for the other five sections including air distribution, air conditioning, heat pumps, gas heating and oil heating.
• Commercial HVAC up to 20 tons
• Commercial Refrigeration

Each of the three exams consists of 100 multiple choice questions.  The student receives a review of the subjects passed and failed for use as a future training aid.

The ICE exam is also useful as a pre test before beginning the NATE Certification process.  NATE exams are a series of tests that verify that the technician has the knowledge most HVAC Companies feel the average HVAC technician should possess.  The exam also indicates the areas the tech needs additional training.
NATE offers certifications in the following specialties for both Service Techs and Installers.  Those passing the service tech exams also qualify for the installer certifications:
• Air Conditioning
• Air Distribution
• Gas Heating
• Heat Pumps
• Oil Heating
• Hydronics Gas
• Hydronics Oil
• Light Commercial Refrigeration
• Commercial Refrigeration
• HVAC Efficiency Analyst

Students must first pass a 50 question core exam covering:
• Safety
• Tools
• Soft Skills
• Principles of Heat Transfer
• Total Comfort
• Electrical

The specialty exam consist of 100 questions and allow a maximum 4 hours.  Most students should be able to take the core and one specialty in a single exam sitting.  Students can retake an exam after a 30 day waiting period.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *