HVAC Training in Hawaii
State technician licensing in Hawaii is not required. Check with your local city and county for their requirements.
Federal law does require anyone using refrigerants to hold an EPA Certification.
C40 Refrigeration (HVAC) Contractor License
The company must apply for a license, furnish insurance and financial information and pay the $50.00 application fee. See the application: http://hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl/boards/contractor/application_publications/contractor-entity-0304.pdf
Upon approval the license fee is $415 to $545 depending on the time of year submitted.
Each company must have an employee designated as the RME, Responsible Managing Employee License: http://hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl/boards/contractor/application_publications/pvl_contractor-responsible.pdf
- The RME must have 4 years managerial experience in the last ten years and must complete and include with the application, the experience statement documents and include $50 application fee.
- After the application approval, you may schedule an exam with Prometric.
- Two exams are required. Business and law and a Trade exam.
- Exam fee is $75 for each exam
- Business and law exam is closed book, 80 questions, 75% passing and 3 hours. Books: Hawaii Contractor’s Reference Manual, Ninth Edition, IRS Circular E, Employer’s Tax Guide, Publication 15, Current Year edition
- HVAC Trade exam is closed book, 80 questions, 75% passing and 3 hours, Books: Uniform Mechanical Code, 1994, 2. Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, 1996.
- Upon approval and passing the exam the license fee is $255 to $335 depending on the time of year submitted.