HVAC Training in California
Federal law requires EPA 608 Certification
California does not require HVAC technicians to register or be licensed.
California offers a license for the following:
- Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating, and Air-Conditioning C-20
- Boiler, Hot-Water Heating, and Steam Fitting C-4
- Refrigeration C-38
- Sheet Metal C-43
- Solar C-46
- Home Improvement Salesperson
Steps to obtain a license:
- Licensed contractors must demonstrate at least 4 years of experience/education in the trade for which they are licensed, be fingerprinted, have an FBI background check, and be bonded. You must have $2500 in working capital.
- Complete Application forms and get authorization to take the exams: CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD STATE OF CALIFORNIA CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD STATE OF CALIFORNIA 9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento, CA 95827 Address: P.O. Box 26000, Sacramento, CA 95826
- Pay the application fee $300, License fee $180, and any additional classification fee $75.
- Obtain the study materials and take a study course if possible. You must pass a business / law exam and a trade exam for each license.
The exam is 100 questions and 72% correct is required to pass. The exam is 2.5 hours.
- Study materials:
- California Mechanical Code, 2001
- California Plumbing Code, 2001
- California Electrical Code, 2004
- OSHA Construction Safety
- Heating and Cooling
- Metal and Flexible, HVAC Duct Construction
- Manual CS
- Manual D
- Manual H
- Manual J
- Manual P
- Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
- Recovery Manual
- EPA Section 608 Study Guide