HVAC Training in Alaska
Alaska does not require HVAC Technicians to be licensed.
Check you city and county for local requirements.
Federal law requires technicians handling refrigerants to hold an EPA Certification.
MECHANICAL (HVAC Contractor) ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPLICATION
Complete the application and experience forms: http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/pub/mec4033.pdf
Include the $50.00 nonrefundable application fee. The license fee is $250.00
Residential HVAC Administrator
Requirements include experience as a journeyman in residential HVAC work for at least two of the four years immediately preceding the date of the application.
Unlimited HVAC Administrator
Requirements include experience as a journeyman in HVAC and sheet metal work for at least four of the six years immediately before the date of the application. 4 years as a manager. A degreed or registered engineer plus 1 year management experience will also qualify.
Schedule your exams at Prometric: http://www.prometric.com/Alaska/Construction.htm
Books allowed during the exam.
Alaska Mechanical Administrators Statutes and Regulations, July 2005,
Alaska Department of Commerce, International Mechanical Code, 2006 Edition
NFPA 31 – Standard for the Installation of Oil Burning Equipment, 2006 Edition
NFPA 54 – National Fuel Gas Code, 2006 Edition